“India’s Best CIOs”, is the largest, transparent, most credible peer recognition and knowledge-sharing platform in the country. These awards are credited with many firsts in the CIO awards space in India, be it introducing peer voting, and now the video nominations (perhaps for the first time in India and in the world).

Currently in its third edition; 117 CIOs and 60 Start-up CTOs (newly introduced category) participated via their publicly available video nominations and together they have built India’s biggest CIO and Start-up CTO Community Digital Learning Platform.

The winners were felicitated on 16 Feb, 2017 at St. Regis, Mumbai. The theme of the event was “Quest to Identify Technology led Transformation” and the awards were presented by Ms. Geeta Phogat.

Ms. Geeta Phogat is a freestyle wrestler who won India’s first ever gold medal in wrestling at the Commonwealth Games in 2010 and also the 1st Indian female wrestler to have qualified for the Summer Olympic Games.

Mr. Manish Gupta, Director & General Manager, Global Compute Networking Group, Dell EMC India delivered the second keynote session at the event.

Launch of Dell EMC CIO Club – Supported by CIO Association of India – CIO Interviews Book, which was unveiled by Ms. Geeta Phogat, Mr. Srihari Palangala, Director and Head of Marketing, Dell EMC India and Mr. Daya Prakash, Executive Director, CIO Association of India.

The evening was filled with glitz and glamour as India’s leading fashion designer – Rohit Verma showcased an ‘aww-some’ collection and took the audience through a journey of “Wardrobe Transformation”.

Our Winners


Mr. Anil Porter
Interglobe Technology Quotient
Watch the Winning Video Nomination

Thanks to Dell EMC and CIO Association of India for hosting such a great Awards event. For me personally, this has been an overwhelming experience; the entire journey has been great and I would like to thank all involved for being so persuasive with me right from the time you all announced the video nominations and followed-up and I believe you would have done the same with other peers of mine. It is the first time that I have bagged the number 1 slot and it is a great feeling. It was a great event night and interacting with my peers and listening to their journey and experience was even greater.

First Runner Up

Mr. N Jayantha Prabhu
Essar Group
Watch the Winning Video Nomination

I want to thank Dell EMC and CIO Association of India for conceptualizing and presenting this unique Best CIOs of India award. It was a great pleasure and honour to receive the prestigious 1st Runner up India’s Best CIOs Award which is selected through Video nomination, Peer voting, and Jury evaluation. Humbly accepting this Award on behalf of my team,  Senior Management and Business users of Essar. IBC Award platform gives great opportunity to meet all peer CIO colleagues and understand Digital Transformation journey in their organization. Dell EMC and CIO Association of India team has done wonderful work on hosting a great evening. Wishing all the best to the entire team. 

Second Runner Up

Mr. Vijay Sethi
Hero MotoCorp Ltd.
Watch the Winning Video Nomination

It was an honour and pleasure to be at IBC Awards 2016. This year was quite unique starting with video nominations and culminating with a great program on 16th February. On the awards day, it was a perfect setting with leading CIOs of the country present in one room followed by an excellent session by one of the stars of the country Ms. Geeta Phogat and Launch of Dell EMC CIO Club – CIO Interviews Book. IBC as a platform has grown over the years and CIO Association of India and Dell EMC teams are doing a wonderful job. My complements to all of them.

Top 10

Mr. Balu Srinivasan
TVS & Sons

Mr. Nandkishor Dhomne
Manipal Health Enterprises

Mr. Narottam Sharma
Samsung R&D Institute India (SRI-Delhi)

Mr. Prasad Patil
JM Baxi Group

Mr. Prasenjit Mukherjee
BSES Power (Reliance ADAG)

Mr. Pratap Gharge
Bajaj Electricals Ltd.

Mr. Rajesh Uppal
Maruti Suzuki India
Mr. JP Yadav receiving the award on behalf of Mr. Rajesh Uppal

Top 50

Mr. A Shiju Rawther
TransUnion CIBIL

Mr. Amit Jaokar
Choice Internationals

Mr. Amit Waghmare
Page Industries

Mr. Anil Nadkarni
Mahyco Seeds

Dr. Ashish Bharadwaj

Mr. Ashok Jade
Shalimar Paints

Mr. Bharat B Anand

Mr. C. R. Varadharajan
MIOT International Hospitals

Mr. Chander Deep Khanduja
Luminous Power Technologies

Mr. Chetan Trivedi
Hindustan Zinc Ltd.

Mr. Dhananjay Prasad
Hero BPO and Hero Mindmine

Mr. G.S. Ravi Kumar
Gati Ltd.

Mr. Goutam Datta
ICICI Lombard General Insurance
Mr. Lalit Sawhney receiving the award on behalf of Mr. Goutam Datta

Mr. Gyan Pandey
Aurobindo Pharma

Mr. Harish Chandra
Sarovar Hotels & Resorts

Mr. Jitendra Singh
JK Cement

Ms. Kalpana Maniar

Mr. Kiran Komatla
Burger King India

Mr. Madu Ratnayake
Virtusa Polaris

Mr. Manish Surve
Raychem RPG

Mr. Meheriar Patel
The Mobile Store & AGC Networks

Mr. Nafees Ahmed
Indiabulls Housing Finance
Mr. Pravin Bhosle receiving the award on behalf of Mr. Nafees Ahmed

Mr. Pertisth Mankotia
Sheela Foam

Mr. Prakash Dharmani
Essel Propack Ltd.

Mr. Pratap Pat Joshi
Mercedes-Benz India

Mr. Rajendra Deshpande
Intelenet Global

Mr. Rajesh Garg
Rolta India

Mr. Ranendra Datta
SABMiller India

Ms. Ritu Madbhavi
FCB Ulka Advertising

Mr. Rupinder Goel
Tata Communications
Mr. Jegadeesh Kumar MD receiving the award on behalf of Mr. Rupinder Goel

Mr. Saurabh Chandra

Mr. Sayed Peerzade
Reliance Big Entertainment & Reliance Entertainment – Digital

Ms. Seema Gaur

Mr. Sudesh Agarwal
Sterling Holiday Resorts Ltd.

Mr. Sudip Mazumder
KEC International

Mr. Sunil Mehta
J. Walter Thompson (JWT)

Mr. V. Sendil Kumar
Shriram Value Services

Mr. Veneeth Purushotaman
Fortis Healthcare



Mr. Arink Verma
Watch the Winning Video Nomination
“For me, it is the IBC platform which showcases the scientific and technical innovation right from the professional’s who see it first coming. Not all engineering inventions are directly visible to the end consumers but are definitely making an impact to lives. All the video nominations from fellow participants are a must watch to have a reference about technological innovation by the year 2016.” 

Ms. Vidya Vellala
Watch the Winning Video Nomination
“Very excited and honored to get this esteemed award. Thanks to Dell EMC and CIO Association of India for giving me the award. I am feeling really proud at this moment. I would like to tell all women that Nothing is impossible. I thank my parents and sisters for supporting me in my journey. The innovative way of taking nominations in the form of videos is very good as we can put forth all our thoughts in the given 3-5 minutes; this is very effective and optimal.” 


Ms. Richa Agrawal
Watch the Winning Video Nomination

I thank Dell EMC and CIO Association of India for having this novel concept of choosing best from their videos instead of forms and interviews. Videos and peer voting increases transparency and also provides participant to showcase their passion, dedication, technical  knowledge, articulation skills, and many other softer aspects which get ignored in form based approach. Same time, it validates that best of the CIOs/CTOs must possess such qualities. Anyone can check videos at any time and judge for themselves in most transparent manner.

Top 5

Mr. Hasan Ali Khan

Mr. Movin Jain


Mr. Lalit Sawhney
Ex-Head, Information Systems at Hindustan Lever and Ex-SVP (CIO)
at Reliance Communications.

Mr. Porus Munshi
An Innovation Expert and Author of a best-selling book: ‘Making Breakthrough Innovation Happen – How 11 Indians Pulled off the Impossible’

Mr. Suneel Aradhye
Ex Group CIO at RPG Enterprises. Management Consultant and Member CIO Angel Network.

Mr. Ashok Wahi
Ex. Group CIO at Spice Corporation Ltd. Currently Distinguished Professor
of Information Systems at Jaypee Business School, JIIT.

Mr. C.N Ram
Ex-Group President & CIO at Essar Group.