HomeIBC 2013

Launch Event Highlights: June 20th, 2013 – Mumbai

‘India’s Best CIOs’ was launched in Mumbai on June 20, 2013 at a grand ceremony. The coveted trophy was unveiled by Mr Alok Ohrie, President and MD, Dell India and the legendary West Indies cricketer, Mr Brian Lara.

Peer Voting and Jury Evaluation

Close to 350 CIOs sent in more than 1000 votes for their peers. The Top 50 CIOs, selected on the basis of maximum aggregate votes, were declared winners. Among these, the Top 10 submitted their case studies to an esteemed jury, who chose the Top 3 winners for the year.
Apart from awarding the Top 3 winners, the property recognized the Top 50 CIOs across India although there was no individual ranking between positions 4 and 10 or positions 11 and 50.

Awards Evening Highlights: Jan 24, 2014 - Mumbai

CIOs across the country voted to determine the winners of India’s Best 50 CIOs – a one-of-its-kind initiative hosted by CIO Association of India and Dell. The event was presided by Mr Arnab Goswami, Editor-in-Chief, Times Now. The keynote speaker of the evening, Mr Goswami also presented awards to all the winners of the event.

Our Winners


Mr Vijay Sethi
VP & CIO at Hero MotoCorp Ltd.

“Being rated as India’s Best CIO by my own peers and by an eminent jury was a very humbling experience. It was a great honor to receive the award in the presence of India’s who’s who in the IT industry. It is a moment that I will cherish all through my life. My colleagues at Hero and my family played a key role in this and I extend my sincere gratitude to all of them, the jury members, and the CIO Association of India”


Mr Rajesh Uppal
Executive Officer (IT) & CIO at Maruti Suzuki India Ltd

“I feel honored to be rated among the Top 3 CIOs of the country, especially in this format where peers have evaluated it. This is very unique and innovative approach of evaluation. I feel IT innovation has a short life cycle and continuous innovation is very critical to be ahead in this competitive business environment.”


Mr T G Dhandapani
CIO at TVS Motor

“When top ten CIOs are chosen by peers and top three out of these ten are chosen by best CIOs of the recent past, you can’t ask for more. This recognition is dedicated to my colleagues in IT who work tirelessly and also to my functional colleagues who don’t compromise for anything. Thanks to Tapan Garg, his team, and Dell for organizing this event so well.”

Mr Arun Gupta
CIO at Cipla

“When armies win wars, the Generals get stars. I feel privileged and honored to share stage with industry stalwart CIOs… thank you CAI. This recognition is dedicated to all my team members – past and present.”

Top 10

Mr Jayantha Prabhu
CTO at Essar Group

Mr Mukund Prasad
Director-Group HR, Business Transformation & Group CIO at Welspun Group

Mr Murali Krishna K
SVP and Group Head Computer & Communication Division at Infosys

Mr S C Mittal
Sr. ED (MIS & IT) & Group CTO, IFFCO & Director at IFFCO Kisan Sanchar Ltd

Mr S P Arya
CIO at Amtek Group

Mr Venkat Iyer
Global CIO at
Wockhardt Ltd

Top 50

Mr Ajay Kumar Meher
Sr. Vice President & Head IT and Post Production and New Media at Sony Entertainment Television

Mr Ajit Manocha
Associate VP & CIO – Syngene, Clinigene at Biocon Limitedp

Mr Alok Kumar

Mr Amit Sethi
CIO at AXIS Bank

Mr Anil Jaggia
CIO at HDFC Bank

Mr Avinash Arora
Director ICT (India & S.E.Asia) & Supply Chain Management at New Holland Fiat India Pvt Ltd

Dr Jai Menon
Group CIO, Bharti Enterprises Group and Director – Global Innovation & IT, Ex-Bharti Airtel Limited

Mr Francis Rajan
CIO at Bangalore International Airport Limited

Mr G Radhakrishna Pillai
CIO at Super Religare Diagnostics (Formerly Known as SRL Ranbaxy)

Mr Girish Rao
Head IT at Marico Industires

Mr Jagdish Belwal
CIO at Tata Motors

Mr Manish Choksi
Chief Corporate Strategy & CIO at Asian Paints

Mr Meheriar Patel
CIO at USV Ltd

Mr Milind Khamkar
CIO at Group Sanofi

Mr Mukesh Kumar Jain
CTO at Ex-ICICI Bank

Mr Muralidharan Ramachandran
CIO at Syntel

Mr Nataraj N
SVP, Global CIO and Head Global IMS Business at Hexaware

Mr Pravin Savant
CTO at Lowe Lintas

Mr Raghuraman MG
CIO at Mphasis

Mr Rahul Mahajan
VP IT at K Raheja Corp

Mr Rajat Sharma
President IT (Global CIO) at Atul Limited

Mr Ram Kalyan Medury
CIO at Magma Fincorp

Mr Satish Pendse
President at Highbar Technologies Ltd

Sebastian Joseph
Ex-CTO at DDB Mudra Group

Mr Shailesh Joshi
Head IT at Godrej Industries Ltd

Mr Shirish Gariba
CIO at DIESL-Drive India Enterprise Solutions Ltd

Mr Shreekant Mokashi
Chief Group Information Services at Tata Steel

Mr Shrikant Kulkarni
Sr. VP & CIO at KPIT Cummins Infosystems Ltd

Mr Subbarao Hegde
Head IT & Systems at GMR

Mr Subodh Dubey
Sr. VP & Group CIO at Usha International

Mr Sudhir Kumar Reddy
Senior Vice President & CIO at MindTree Limited

Mr Sundaram Ramasamy
Executive Director (IS) at Indian Oil Corporation

Mr Suneel Aradhye
Group CIO at RPG Group

Mr Sunil Mehta
Sr. VP & Area Systems Director (Central Asia) at JWT

Mr Sunil Sirohi
Vice President Information Resources at NIIT

Mr Umesh Jain
SVP at National Stock Exchange of India Limited

Mr V Subramaniam
Director IT & CIO, South Asia Pacific at UTC Building & Industrial Systems (A United Technologies Company)

Mr Veneeth Purushotaman
Business Head-Technology at Hypercity Retail India Ltd

Mr VVR Babu
SVP & Group CIO at ITC Ltd

Mr Yogesh Zope
Group CIO at Bharat Forge


Mr C N Ram
Ex-Group President & CIO at Essar Group

Mr Lalit Sawhney
Ex-SVP (CIO) at Reliance Communication and Ex- Head, Information Systems: Hindustan Unilever Ltd (formerly Hindustan Lever)

Mr Pravir Vohra
Ex-President and Group CTO at ICICI Bank

Mr Atul Jayawant
Senior President Group IT and Group CIO at Aditya Birla Group

Mr Sandeep Phanasgaonkar
Ex-President & CTO at Reliance Capital Ltd